Rhythm in Photography – More

View of Loch from Standing Stones at Calanais, Isle of Lewis (Leodhas)I have been looking more and more at the role played by rhythm in photography using the information I learned from L. Ron Hubbard’s book, ART. I took this picture while visiting the standing stones at Calanais on the Isle of Lewis. Most people were shooting the stones which were very interesting but when I turned and looked south I saw this captivating view of the loch with the hills of Harris in the background. I tried to analyse what makes me like this picture so much and I realized that it is the rhythm of the curves of the hills, of the loch and the roof of the visitors’ centre in the foreground. These give the picture a movement of its own – a rhythmic one.

“It is a relief to participate in predictable rhythm in an art form. It is safe and reassuring. If the rhythm is exciting, it is also exciting. Therefore participation in predictable rhythm is pleasure and even joy.”

L. Ron Hubbard

from his book, ART

Now I am going to see what rhythm I can find in Hollywood. We’ll see!

~ by sheilamacd on March 19, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
